Snow, snow go away…

28 02 2010

come again another day (actually, let’s not come back at all)…

I’m from New Orleans. I don’t say this in any kind of way, except to say that I’m from New Orleans – a very, very southern city that has maybe seen snow all of 3 recorded times in history. One such time was the day my middle sister was born in 1989. Another was last year. That’s how much it snows… that I can tell you the days with no hesitation. And each of these snow “storms” mayyyybe had at most 2 inches, although I wouldn’t bet my life on it.

So when I started working for a government agency that required everyone to have some sort of snow duty almost 2 years ago, I did not know what I was getting myself into. In fact, last year didn’t help this either as it snowed like once in the 2008-2009 winter season and that was a punk type snow. At least in comparison to the snow monsoons we’ve seen this winter.

Ohhhhh emmmm geeeee!!! Just really, it should never ever snow this much in one city. If you’re reading this and have no connection to DC, you should know that the city has experienced over 55 inches of snow this winter… beating hundred year old records and ish. Now, maybe you’re from like Australia or Detroit/Chicago or something,  so 55 inches is nothing to you… but I bring you back to one of my first statements: I’m from New Orleans. Louisiana. We do hurricanes; snow though – yeah, we don’t do that.

But this post is not about how I had to work the snow or how I don’t have snow boots and had to find out the hard way that Timberlands are not a good substitute. No, this post is about how the snow has officially killed my dating/partying life this winter season. Seriously – who’s going to the bar or the lounge when there’s 20 feet of snow on the ground? Who’s meeting up with people for dates when you’ve worked 18 straight hours on top of your normal 9 hours a day?

Not me. And I’m highly upset about it because C-Murder and I had such grand plans for this winter! We even talked to folks to find out what some of the hot spots were that were not in our typical Howard University filled locations. Places like the W lounge and Josephines or Layla Lounge… we had plans guys! PLANS!

And this damn snow ruined it all. Our plans turned into just that, plans – not realizations. I blame it on the ground hog and I blame it on Republicans for not believing in global warming. Clearly mother nature wanted to show her ass this winter. But so did D-magic lol.

That’s okay, I guess. Spring is almost here (a girl can be hopeful, at least) and I feel like things can only get better. I’m looking forward for the snow to go away and my love life to spring forward. Aren’t you? I know you want to read all kinds of juicy date gotcheR! Then tell the snow to leave so we can get this ball on the road.

Please and thank you. 🙂