Reminiscing on when “Bae” was Fun

3 03 2015
Featured on Gawker.com

Featured on Gawker.com

I’m not proud of this, but there was once a time when I was hesitant to donate my old clothes even when I hadn’t worn them in years. Not because I cared about other people wearing my clothes, but because it never failed that once I donated them, no more than a few years would pass before the items would come back in style.

This happened over and over again.

Jean jackets

Skorts

Tennis skirts

High/low dresses and skirts

The list goes on.

Eventually, I got over that concern. But now I see a similar phenomenon happening in words and phrases. The things we used to say in high school coming back in style but in slightly different forms.

“Bae” is the perfect example of this.

When I was younger, “bae” was so much fun. It wasn’t being used by popular clothing stores to sell merchandize. TIME Magazine hadn’t attempted to explain it to the world. You didn’t see it on t-shirts or memes telling people to be calm. It wasn’t a trend; it was just a cute, shorter way than babe to distinguish between your guy or girl and everyone else.

Also, it was a proper noun used to let the person you’re speaking to know that you’re speaking to him or her.

For example, you might say, “Bae, can you get me some water please?” But you would never, ever say “That’s bae over there.” It wouldn’t have made sense.

And in the South and Midwest, where monikers like babe and sweetheart and cher (shout out New Orleans) were used for everyone and their grandma, “bae” was specifically only used for one person at a time. It was clear. “Bae” was your man or your ol’ lady. No ifs, ands, or butts about it.

Now though?

“Bae” has been distorted to be some kind of crazy word that could mean boyfriend/girlfriend, but could also mean just someone you think is attractive. It’s a freakin’ acronym now, for goodness sake. BAE = before anyone else. It’s turned into a regular noun. In fact, you’re more likely to hear something like “Tom is bae” than any other version, and the crazy part is Tom doesn’t even have to know the speaker is alive!

I mean, what kind of fuckery?

Okay, I know, I know. I sound like some kind of ol’ fogey probably. And I’m sure I’ll get over it. But it just bothers me to see such a good friend change overnight. “Bae” was gone and dead as a word, but somehow over the past two years, it’s come back with a vengeance. And I don’t necessarily think I like what I see. I want it to go back to what it was before 2013. Can we do that? Is that possible? If not, I guess I’ll just have to reminisce on my own… just nobody better start saying “that’s cher over there,” or I might have a slight meltdown.

Anyway, what do you all think about “bae”? Did you use the term when you were younger? Do you use it now? And are there any other words that you used back in the day that are in style now?

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2015
JaneDoe

Welcome Back!

No I never used the term. In the Midwest it’s used a lot, and as you stated previously, it was a nickname to call your significant other. I wish “bae” came with a censor so that every time someone said it, it would bleep them out. It’s kinda like “swag”. I don’t want to hear it used again.

10 03 2015
dbaham

Thanks!!!

Haha, yeah someone wrote on Facebook that it was used as a form of address previously, and I wanted to like her comment a million times over! Now, I’m just like you — I want it to go away (and that makes me sad).

Leave a Reply

