Holiday Gift Ideas for New Relationships

16 12 2014
Photo: blog.navut.com

Photo: blog.navut.com

The other week, one of my favorite readers left the following comment: “You should talk about holiday gift ideas for men. That’s usually hard to do when it’s the first year you’re together and on a budget!”

Well, A) she’s absolutely right! It’s super hard to figure out what to get your new boo for the holidays. But also B) I was sadly mistaken that I’d already done a post about this. Nope. The horror!! And you all know how much I love a holiday blog post, so that’s kind of crazy. Alas, I’ve already talked about whether you should get a gift and things to do with your relatively new boo during the holidays and what I’d want (lol), but never suggestions on gifts for someone else.

Me: What’s a really nice watch you would suggest someone get a man for less than $600?

Friend: Oooh, let’s see: Movado (bold line), Boss, Burberry… wait, who are you buying a $600 watch for?

Me: Ummm have we met?! Not anyone anytime soon lol. This is a question from my sister.

Friend: Oh okay, just checking.

Me: Yea, she’s been in a relationship for 3 years now. So she’s bout that life. I…. have not and am not.

Friend: lol good… but back to these watches…

You see how quickly that conversation went left for a bit? It’s because my friend knows that there’s level to this ish. Y’all, please don’t think you should be out buying a $600 watch for someone you’ve been dating for 3 months. That’s not how this works. (That’s not how any of this works.)

However, if you want to get that special someone a gift and/or you checked out the diagram I featured before on the site, and it says you should, then here are some suggestions I have for you (and just your luck, I’ve had my fair share of new relationships around the holidays):

Keep it small and cute, but show you’ve been listening

One of my first adult relationships during the holidays involved a fella who loved cookies. So what did I do? I baked some for real, from scratch homemade cookies using two ingredients I knew he liked (because he talked about them a lot): chocolate and pecans. They were a hit! They weren’t that expensive to make, but once I wrapped them up nicely, tied the plastic with a pretty a bow, and placed it in a cute cookie tin, he was absolutely gaga for them. In fact, he talked about them for years afterward. Total cost? Less than $15. Look on his face: priceless. Your idea doesn’t have to be homemade cookies, but it can be something that doesn’t cost a lot, but that he talks about often. Maybe he likes a particular cologne or a Wii game or has a favorite football team — listen out for clues and then go for that!

Go for something DIY that he would like, not you…

Okay, this is for my DIY girls like me — Pinterest can be your best friend during this time. But don’t get too fancy with it and forget who the gift is really for here. My best DIY suggestion? A coupon booklet of cheap/free activities he can ask you to do later on. A) it shows you want there to be a later on, B) it shows your creativity, and C) the items should all be things he’d want to actually do, so he’ll be excited. Possible examples include a home cooked meal, a massage, a free zirbert (yes, I put that on there lol), you rooting for his favorite team at least once (especially if you don’t normally like them), etc…

Try an activity you can both attend

Do you both like go-cart racing? Or a specific band or artist? Maybe you’ve both mentioned seeing a particular Broadway play? Why not get two tickets to whatever that activity is so that it’s a gift for him, but it’s still something you can do together. This gift is also versatile, so it can be tickets to something worth $10 each or up to like $100, depending on just how “new” the relationship is.

And if all else fails, and you’ve already introduced sex into your relationship…

Tape a big bow on you, and enjoy a different kind of present with each other.

That one is pretty self-explanatory lol.

Any other suggestions?? I hope these helped for all my newbies out there! Happy holiday shopping!

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 12 2014
JaneDoe

Yayyy! Thank you for the great ideas. I think I totally bombed in this area years prior. I’ve done the Express sweaters (he never got it because he made me mad before Christmas) and I’ve done gift cards. Which I found out is considered impersonal…I thought it was a great idea because the guy loved the store and he could pick for himself, but he looked a tad disappointed. OMG I’m horrible, I’m laughing as I type it.

I’ve set a budget in previous years. Do you believe that takes away from it all? Sooooooo….does it count if I go to the bakery to get cookies and put them in a tin and front like I made them? lol

18 12 2014
dbaham

A gift card, girl?! A GIFT CARD!?!?!? hahahahahahahahahahahaha you are hilarious. I definitely agree that your gift card present to the guy was a bit impersonal, but what you could have done is maybe give him a “coupon” for you to go shopping with him to the place and just have the gift card for you to spend. Let him see what it feels like to “just throw it in the bag” lolol and make it something silly and fun. I don’t know… just ball parking here.

I feel your pain on the Express sweaters purchase prior to him making you mad, though. Ugh. Isn’t that the worst? I bought a custom made art sketch for one dude and never gave it to him — do you know how pissed I was about that damn art sketch?!

But anyway, you’re welcome on the ideas! Hope they help 😉 And nope — I totally set a budget every Christmas actually. If not, you’ll end up spending way too much money on everything. Plus, I’m just of the believe that you don’t have to spend $800 on something for someone to feel special, but that’s just me.

Ummmmmmmm you can definitely go to the bakery and get the cookies. That’s better than giving someone dry cookies if you’re not a baker. Dry desserts are a poison to our society. #downwithdrydesserts

18 12 2014
JaneDoe

Yes girl a gift card and I actually had one of my co-workers go and pick it up for me on their lunch hour. I was still trying to feel him out on whether it would work. Needless to say it didn’t.

Noooooooo not a custom sketch!!! Did you use it as dart practice after that? I would have.

I can cook and bake, I just personally don’t believe in doing it for a guy. He hasn’t earned a meal on my watch lol.

19 12 2014
dbaham

Ahhhhh OK. I do a nice card when I’m still feeling a dude out lol. After that sketch business, I get a little iffy on gifts for folks I’m not quite certain about. Or I just make something like cookies (lol) that I can use for other folks’ gifts as well and not feel as bad about it if it ends in like 2 weeks. But hey — on the bright side with your gift card, at least you hadn’t wasted any large effort for someone it didn’t work out with! #winning

Ummmmm… honestly, I just threw it out. I didn’t want to keep it because the sketch was a drawing of him, but I also didn’t think he deserved it at that point. Although dart practice sounds good. If only I’d gotten that advice ten years ago hahahaha

Totally understandable! I like cooking for people, but even then, I feel some kind of way if it seems like you ASSUME I’m going to cook or bake something for you. For the cookies guy, I was just trying to think of something inexpensive but good (and also kind of using him as my guinea pig for my first batch of cookies). A guy I made a cheesecake for a couple years ago, we’d cooked together already so that weighed into my decision on that one.

Leave a Reply

