Why the Ability to Make Me Laugh is So Sexy

12 02 2014

laugh and love

I saw this posted on a friend’s Instagram account the other day, and I had to laugh because I felt like she was telling my story with a photo. You see the truth is, despite all my utterances of deal breakers and conversations about chemistry — laughter is by far one of the most important aspects I require in my relationships.

I mean, trust too, obviously. And respect. And consideration. But there’s just something about laughter that can instantly tell me if someone should be in my life or not.

And it’s not because I’m a hard person to make laugh. On the contrary, I can probably make someone feel like he should have tried out for Comic View back in the day. No, I think it has more to do with the fact that I just love doing it so damn much. So if I can’t do something I love to do that comes so easily for me with you… well to me, that’s a clear sign something is missing.

The thing is, I’m not sure if this was always the case. But even when I look at my blog posts now compared to those in the past, I find that there’s a lot of talk about the importance of being with someone who makes me laugh. In fact, I mentioned it recently when discussing the different priorities I have now that I’m older. And I definitely talked about how the ability to have a relationship filled with laughter was one of my goals I listed in the beginning of the year.

So it’s clear that laughter is important to me, but that doesn’t speak to why I think it’s sexy.

I think to explain that I have to be clear in saying that I don’t mean menial laughter when I speak of the word. I’m not talking about chuckles or the equivalent of “lol” at the end of a sentence. Anyone can do that. No, I mean, snorting out of your nose, tears coming out of your eyes, rolling on the floor laughter. That’s the good stuff. That’s the stuff that’s cathartic and healing. The stuff that’s soothing to my soul. Heck, that’s the stuff that will turn the suckiest of days around because joy usually accompanies laughter like that. And you can’t have joy and still feel bummed out.

And yes, damn it — it is also the stuff that makes a man sexy as hell to me.

When I find myself laughing the majority of the time I spend with a guy, it does something to me that even seeing him with a six-pack can’t do. It tells me that our spirits are enjoying each other. It shows me that we are comfortable enough with each other to let go and have fun. We’re not so bogged down in what’s going on around us that we can’t let loose and experience the beauty of laughing together, just being ourselves.

And I don’t know about you all, but there’s not a lot of men who I’ve been able to have that kind of connection with. So maybe that’s why it’s sexy to me. Because it’s rare, and it’s beautiful. And it makes me feel all good inside. And when I feel good, I think about also feeling goooooood hehe.

Is there anything that you find sexy that’s kind of out of the box?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

