Tips for My Future Husband – #16

18 12 2013

Help me decorate our place with Christmas cheer

“Hang all the mistletoe, I’m going to get to know you better… And as we trim the tree, how much fun it’s going to be together… And this Christmas will be a very special Christmas for meeeee.” – Donny Hathaway/ This Christmas

I love Christmas. I think that’s probably clear by now if you’ve been reading this blog for at least a year. It is, in fact, my favorite time of the year. Sure, I love birthdays and most holidays, really – but there’s something special about Christmas for me. People tend to go out of their way to be nice to each other during this time. Most folks take care to really embody the spirit of giving during this time more than others. You get to see folks’ (especially children) light up when they open their presents. Families come together all over the world and spend quality time with each other. It’s just a magical time.

Well just as much as I love the Christmas spirit and season, I also love the decorating aspect of it too! I mean, I really enjoy it. Every year, no matter what, my decorations are up no later than the first week in December (sometimes by Thanksgiving eve) and don’t come down until at the earliest January 6th. And I take great care to place the items exactly where they will help me create the feeling I want to walk into when I get home. I mix store bought items with DIY crafts, I plug in my warm apple cider Glade plug-in for the season, hang my mistletoe, hang the bows and berries and flowers all over the walls, and most importantly, I trim that tree to the gawds.

As you can see, I have no qualms with doing it on my own. I turn on my Christmas music playlist, and if you peaked in, you would probably see me dancing around in my undies while sipping eggnog and skipping through my place checking to see what else could use a bit of Christmas cheer. But the times I’ve decorated with others, like with my baby sister when she would come in town or with friends who have come over to help, it just brought about a completely different feeling in me. So, I can’t help longing for the year that future hubby and I can decorate together some days.  It is an image that brings me joy just thinking about it.

Now, before you roll your eyes too hard — take a moment to picture what I’m describing. Can’t you just see us? Making our way through our home and hanging the stockings with care. Singing Christmas carols to each other as we laugh our way through the few hours it takes to transform our house into a massive Christmas experiment? Spiking our eggnog right before I change into one of my lovely Christmas lingerie sets?? I can, and hopefully future hubby can too. It would kinda suck to still be decorating the house on my own if he’s there as someone who can readily participate.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

