Who Doesn’t Love a Christmas Miracle?

20 11 2013
Photos compiled from Lifetime and ABC Family

Photos compiled from Lifetime and ABC Family

I know some folks think it’s too early to start seeing Christmas decorations in the stores and commercials for Christmas presents. But for my money, it’s never too early to start watching Holiday Romantic Comedies. And thankfully for me, Lifetime seems to agree.

You see, this past weekend they got their start early (possibly to beat ABC Family at their 25 days of Christmas movies shtick) and began showing a marathon of some of their fave Christmas movies that will last through the holiday season. And I found myself on my couch, watching my fair share. Yep, that’s right, in between my busy weekend schedule of getting my hair done, going to see the Best Man Holiday, writing, and watching the Saints play football, I stuck in 3 or 4 or 5 sappy holiday movies as well.

What can I say? Y’all know I’m a sap for a cheesy romantic comedy.

I couldn’t help myself, really. It initially started as me planning to just watch one — Holly’s Holiday — but after the inevitable Christmas miracle to end the movie and spark a wonderfully happy relationship with the main character and her cute boo-thang, I needed to see more! So I watched another one, and then another one, and then another one — each time growing even more excited to see how the heroine of the movie would find her way to true love by Christmas Day.

Who doesn’t want to see a happy, romantic ending occur on Christmas Day, right? Even if it is just in a TV movie. You have the beautiful background of Christmas colors galore, sometimes a snowy winter wonderland, presents all around, and of course mistletoe. How can you top mistletoe and the inevitable final shot of the two lovebirds kissing underneath the universal signal to do so? You can’t beat that, really… you just can’t.

The more movies I watched, the more I realized just why I love the winter holiday season so much. Of course, I’m all about the spirit of giving and spending time with your family, the jingles and the decorations, the food and the chances to dress up, and the egg nog and spiced warm apple cider, but what I really love is the idea of the Christmas miracle.

Ahhh yes, the Christmas miracle — it comes in so many different forms, but whether that’s the sight of a parent making it home just in the nick of time so that he or she could be with his/her kids on Christmas Day or the smile on a family’s face while they eat a meal they knew they couldn’t afford but somehow came to them anyway, or even the joy on a kid’s face as he opens up the toys under the Christmas tree and sees everything he asked Santa for, it’s undeniable that the Christmas miracle provides hope in a world that doesn’t always seem filled with it.

This is especially meaningful if you’re anything like me and you have hopeless romantic tendencies, because the Christmas miracle also means there’s still a chance that you’ll meet that guy or gal who blows you away and makes you wonder how you ever managed to go through life without him/her. Add in some snowflakes, a carol, and a guy with dimples and dreamy eyes, and you’ve got your own version of a Lifetime or ABC Family or Hallmark Christmas movie.

And really, who wouldn’t want that?

What do you all think? Is it just me; am I alone in loving the Christmas miracle, or do you find yourself watching these movies as well wondering when you’ll get your chance under the mistletoe?

Actions

Information

One response

29 11 2013
Birgit

I don’t even understand how I ended up right here, however I thought
this submit used to be great. I do not understand who you might
be but certainly you are going to a famous blogger in case you are not already.
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

