#ThatAwkwardMoment when a Sex Song Plays at the Wrong Time

18 11 2013
Photo: healthwatchman.com

Photo: healthwatchman.com

At the end of a date a couple years ago, I found myself in a very awkward situation. The guy and I were making random chit chat as he drove me home from the restaurant, and the next thing I knew Freak Me by Silkk came on the radio. I’m sure if someone else had been able to see into that car, they would have probably cracked up laughing at the sight.

There we both sat trying to act like we didn’t hear this extremely sexual song playing on the radio while we continued our conversation about whether or not guys and girls could be truly platonic and how to know when a guy likes you.

Talk about awkward.

I mean, have you heard the lyrics to even just the chorus of Freak Me lately?

“Let me lick you up and down till you say stop; Let me play with your body, baby, make you real hot; Let me do all the things you want me to do; Cause tonight, baby, I wanna get freaky with you.”

Considering this was the third or fourth date with this guy and we’d yet to even kiss, I’m pretty sure I was dying inside the whole time the song played. Oh and did I mention that it wasn’t playing lightly in the background? It was definitely on loud enough for us both to hear it, acknowledge it, and then act like it wasn’t quite possibly the worst song to serve as the background to our conversation. And he never turned the radio down or off.

Remembering this moment made me think of other moments when sex songs have served to turn what would have been a perfectly okay situation into #teamawkward. For example, in college I remember having a meeting with my executive team for the Howard University Association of Black Journalists in my room one afternoon and hearing the distinct sounds of Imagine That by R. Kelly coming from someone’s window in the dorm. Another time I was visiting a friend in her dorm room, and as we were both whining about our loved lives, we heard her suite-mate start blaring R. Kelly and Biggie’s classically inappropriate song, F**king You Tonight. And then we heard ummm, other sounds begin to join the song.

What can you possibly do in those situations except let the song play and try not to crack up laughing at how awfully awkward things have just now become? Or in the case of my date, continue on with the conversation as if neither of you hears the new soundtrack to your thoughts.

What do you all think? How would you handle a musically awkward situation? And have you ever encountered such problems before? I’d love to hear what other songs have made it into the awkward conversation hall of fame.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

