If I Lay Here…

29 07 2013
Photo Credit:  Sunny Day Snuggling by pettyartist via http://pettyartist.deviantart.com

Photo Credit: Sunny Day Snuggling by pettyartist via http://pettyartist.deviantart.com

“If I lay here. If I just lay here. Would you lie with me and just forget the world?” – Chasing Cars, Snow Patrol

There’s so many things to love about being single. You don’t really have to answer to anyone. You can flirt endlessly without feeling guilty. You can come home at 5am and not wonder if your significant other is displeased. You can meet and date several people at one time if you please or you can just lead your life doing whatever the heck you want.

In a life full of choices, if you’re single (with no kids), the only person whose life your choices really directly effect is you.

It’s great!

It’s simple.

It’s freeing.

But…

When you want to lay with someone and just forget the world, yea that’s not really an option.

Now, maybe this is just me. I’m willing to admit that possibility. But sometimes, in those quiet moments, after I’ve come home from all the parties or happy hours, after I’ve flirted with all the boys (and had my milkshake bring them to the yard), sometimes I just want to come home and lay in someone’s arms and lose myself in that moment.

Truthfully, it’s a feeling I’d forgotten for the past few months actually. But I remembered it when I re-heard Chasing Cars recently, a song that was once synonymous with one of my favorite shows ever. I hadn’t heard it in awhile and hadn’t felt the feelings it describes in awhile, but as soon as I listened – it hit me.

There’s something so comforting about being able to lay in someone’s arms and forget about your troubles, your obligations, your ambitions, your everything. To just be in that moment, without a care in the world. To trust him so much that you’re willing to let all your cares be put to the side just because you’re with him. I think I’d forgotten just how important that simple act can be in someone’s life because my girls and I have been having so much fun lately. We’ve been living the life, partying it up, and having a great effin time being 30.

It’s been fun.

It’s been simple.

It’s been great.

It’s been filled with all kinds of perks.

But being able to let down your guard with one person, have them envelope you, rub your hair, and lay with you in simple silence just isn’t one of them.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 07 2013
29tolife

Yeah. I was totally craving a good cuddle this weekend. Ah. The struggle is real…

29 07 2013
dbaham

Girl. Me too!!

Clearly.

And I had a booty called deferred this weekend as well! Damn struggle.

Leave a Reply

