Relationship Karma

10 05 2013

Karma.

You reap what you sow.

What goes around comes around.

Treat others as you would have them treat you.

These are what I like to call universal concepts. And while it may be called different things by different people and different cultures, it all boils down to the same idea: whatever you put into this world is what you will get out of it.

I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of karma, and most especially, the idea of relationship karma. And when I say fascinated, I really mean scared as shit of it. Now, this is not because I consider myself a bad person. On the contrary, I think that for the most part, I try to live a genuine life and keep my heart pure.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t broken some hearts in my time thus far on earth. In fact, I can safely say that I know I’ve broken at least 4 (maybe more), and I know at least 3 of them (at the time) hated my guts when we ended. So where does that leave me in karma’s path?

Is it enough that hurting those guys was not my intention? That my actions were not meant to be painful? Sometimes I doubt it – because when you think about it, whether I intended to or not, I did. And while I could give a million reasons why I acted in the way I did (reasons like, I was unsure of my feelings for him, I realized I still loved someone else, I just didn’t feel the connection like he did, etc…), those are hardly of comfort to someone when they feel like you’ve wronged them.

I know this all too well, as I’ve been on the other end of those conversations too. I’ve been the hurt one, the one questioning how he could treat me in such a way – and whether his intent was harm or not – I felt like that’s what he’d done.

This is why karma is so damn tricky! Do you reap what you intended to sow? Or do you reap what was actually sown? I’m still kind of torn – but I know one thing, I try my damnedest not to get on her bad side as much as possible.

What do you all think? Do you believe in karma and,  in particular, relationship karma? And if you do, how do you apply it to your life?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

