My Thoughts on Christianity and Homosexuality – in Video

3 05 2013

I’ve been listening/reading a lot of the commentary out right now in light of Jason Collins’ announcement, and in particular, because of what he said about his Christianity in the open letter. And it’s been, frankly, quite disheartening.

I will never be able to understand how people who claim to follow Jesus Christ – who preached love, forgiveness, and humility – can seek to condemn those around them who are not like them. And as I’ve gotten older, I’ve found myself drawing closer to God on my own volition and seeking His Word and studying to show myself approved and guess what? I’m even more convinced that He didn’t call us to judge, hate, or condemn those around us.

In fact – He said the exact opposite. In 1 John 4:20, it says:  Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen.

In layman’s terms – How can you claim to love God but hate the people you see every day? You cannot.

And so, I could go through and list all of the scriptures that align up with my thoughts on Christianity and Homosexuality, like others have attempted to do on the other side of the spectrum – but really, that one says more than enough. Plus, this video below is more powerful than what I think I could write on the matter.

Thank you to Shonda Rhimes for creating such a powerful scene.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 05 2013
Brenda

That video was pretty powerful. Its really funny how in church you are taught to feed the hungry, clothe the naked, and all those things but no gets that “hating” someone for their lifestyle goes against all of that. I really like how in the video Callie’s dad kept reciting all the condemning verses and she threw the ones about love right back at him. Why do we always forget about the love part? Great post my dear!

8 05 2013
dbaham

Exactly, Brenda! I don’t get it either, and it makes me so sad sometimes. But (over the course of history), there have always been people who used the Bible to serve their will and not God’s, so I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised… And thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

