On Texting Part 2

12 04 2013

Texting is nice, but actual dates are much better. ~ Cosmopolitan Magazine’s Ky Henderson

When I read this quote in Cosmo recently, I swear I had an amen session right there in my own little corner on the train. It’s such a simple thing to say, but let me tell you, I know so many people (myself included) who’ve experienced the guy who wants to have, what I like to call, a textual relationship.

You know the guy (or maybe girl, I’ll allow that some of us may do this too) who hits you up every day to say good morning and sends texts throughout the day, but never takes it any further than that? Yea, that person.

Funny enough, I’m not actually as bothered by the texting practice as I used to be, but it still kind of grinds my gears when I meet a guy who doesn’t take it past that. Y’all know I’m a bit old school, so I’ve always felt like if a guy likes you, he’ll want to hear your voice and see your face. I still think that, but I also allow for more texting situations than I did before. (Yes, people – we all grow lol.) I mean, heck, my friends and I text each other (or email or Facebook message) all the time, so I understand that it’s something that is just common place in our culture.

But let’s be real. You cannot get to know someone over text. So either eventually, the texter has to take it to the next level and ask the woman on a date (yes, a real date where you make plans and spend significant time with each other) or the person being texted has to come to the realization that something in the milk ain’t clean and this situation isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.

Ky mentions in his response that this person was probably simply setting the scene for an eventual booty call. I’m inclined to agree with that possibility, unless you’ve happened to oops up on an incredibly socially awkward person who thinks texting equals dating like a good friend of mine did. More than likely, though, it’s the setting you up for an eventual booty call thing going on. And if that’s the case – the quote still stands because a date is still so much better than texting, and these days (maybe because I’m getting older?), it definitely betters your chances at that spin around the boudoir than a “gm wut u up 2” text does.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

