Tips for My Future Husband – #8

28 01 2013

greys dancing

Join my dance parties!!!

I’m pretty sure that at this point in life, we all have little things we do to release frustrations sometimes. Some folks drink, others have sex, others do something daring like going out to ride their motorcycle, and still others may choose a more wholesome activity – like going to church.

Me? I dance.

But not just any kind of dance. I crank up the best pop and rock music I have on either iTunes, Spotify, or my Youtube playlist and I. Rock. Out! I swing my hair back and forth. I swing my body back and forth. I gyrate. I jig. I act like I have an electric guitar. Sometimes, I act like I’m Sheila E with my imaginary dreams. Heck, I even jump sometimes or twirl around like I’m Gone with the Wind fabulous! I mean, I really let loose.

Usually, this dance party won’t last long – like maybe 5-10 minutes – but on occasion, I’ll need to rock out for at least an hour until I feel completely worn out and completely released. And you know what? I’ve been doing this for quite some time, because it helps. So I definitely don’t want to get married and feel like I can’t have a quick dance party anymore. That would be tres sad.

It would be even sadder if future husband didn’t join in with me sometimes. Now, listen – you can certainly have a solo dance party. Most of mine are, especially since they tend to involve me in clothing that’s less than pjs… but it’s soooo much fun when you can have a willing participant join in with you.

Thing is, in order to participate – you simply cannot take yourself too seriously. You just have to feel the musicality of the music (as Lil C would say on SYTYCD) and let your limbs do the rest. I want my future husband to be able to do that. I want him to be able to let loose and be silly with me, even if it’s just for 5 to 10 min. That’s not too much to ask, right?

I don’t think so.  And hopefully future Mr. D-Magic won’t either. Otherwise, it might be kinda awkward when I’m flailing around to Pour it Up by Rihanna or Girls (We Run the World) by Bey and he’s just sitting there.

Actions

Information

7 responses

30 01 2013
29tolife

I am in favor of this. I rock out in my manbeater and poom poom shorts. It does feel good.

30 01 2013
dbaham

Yessssss!!! So glad to have an e-friend in the dance party movement 🙂 I’ve been working to get my goddaughter converted to it as well haha

9 02 2013
hostgator 404 page coupon

Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why
but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

11 02 2013
dbaham

Thanks for the heads-up! I’ll check that out.

15 04 2013
Tips for My Future Husband – #10 | Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] and centers me – even the rap songs), but also really really enjoys coming home to have a rockin’ dance jam session. I listen to it when I cook, when I clean, when I shower, when I… ahem (well not as much that […]

5 08 2013
I Can Tell that You’ve Been Practicing… | Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] y’all already know I like dancing. But did you know that this enjoyment of dancery includes performing for my dude? Oh yea, I even […]

21 10 2013
Tips for My Future Husband – #15 | Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] a simple request, I know. But with as much as I love dancing and the idea of my boo-thang sanging to me while we dance, I also adore a sexy man who can lead me […]

Leave a Reply

