Tips for My Future Husband – #8

28 01 2013

greys dancing

Join my dance parties!!!

I’m pretty sure that at this point in life, we all have little things we do to release frustrations sometimes. Some folks drink, others have sex, others do something daring like going out to ride their motorcycle, and still others may choose a more wholesome activity – like going to church.

Me? I dance.

But not just any kind of dance. I crank up the best pop and rock music I have on either iTunes, Spotify, or my Youtube playlist and I. Rock. Out! I swing my hair back and forth. I swing my body back and forth. I gyrate. I jig. I act like I have an electric guitar. Sometimes, I act like I’m Sheila E with my imaginary dreams. Heck, I even jump sometimes or twirl around like I’m Gone with the Wind fabulous! I mean, I really let loose.

Usually, this dance party won’t last long – like maybe 5-10 minutes – but on occasion, I’ll need to rock out for at least an hour until I feel completely worn out and completely released. And you know what? I’ve been doing this for quite some time, because it helps. So I definitely don’t want to get married and feel like I can’t have a quick dance party anymore. That would be tres sad.

It would be even sadder if future husband didn’t join in with me sometimes. Now, listen – you can certainly have a solo dance party. Most of mine are, especially since they tend to involve me in clothing that’s less than pjs… but it’s soooo much fun when you can have a willing participant join in with you.

Thing is, in order to participate – you simply cannot take yourself too seriously. You just have to feel the musicality of the music (as Lil C would say on SYTYCD) and let your limbs do the rest. I want my future husband to be able to do that. I want him to be able to let loose and be silly with me, even if it’s just for 5 to 10 min. That’s not too much to ask, right?

I don’t think so.  And hopefully future Mr. D-Magic won’t either. Otherwise, it might be kinda awkward when I’m flailing around to Pour it Up by Rihanna or Girls (We Run the World) by Bey and he’s just sitting there.

