Tip: How to Keep Your Shoe Closet Organized & Efficient

25 01 2013
You're shoe closet may not look like Christina's, but it can be just as organized (well, excluding the ones the kid took off the shelves). Photo: theshoegirl.blogspot.com

Your shoe closet may not look like Christina’s, but it can be just as organized (well, excluding the ones the kid took off the shelves).
Photo: theshoegirl.blogspot.com

When I moved into my apartment 2 years ago, one of the first projects I tackled was creating an efficient space for my shoes. I didn’t know at the time this would essentially become a shoe closet (with a few other items, like purses and some clothing), but that’s exactly what happened. I’m not fancy (well sometimes I think I am), and I’m not rich, but I have a closet that’s 3/4 devoted to my shoes.

And I’m all the better because of it.

Before I did this, I was like most people – acquiring shoes and largely forgetting about many of the ones I didn’t wear on a daily basis. Why? Because I couldn’t easily see them. However, if you were to walk into my closet now, you would notice 3 important things about the way I’ve organized my shoes, and I think these are the 3 basic tenets you need to follow to ensure your shoes are just as organized.

You can see every single one of them.

Sounds difficult, right? Not really. With a variation of shelving, shoe racks, and/or shoe boxes with pictures of each shoe facing the outside, anyone can achieve the act of knowing what they have. My closet has a combination of portable shelves and hanging shoe boxes, but if you don’t have as much space (say you don’t have a walk-in closet), you may only be able to use one method. Either way, whichever way you choose to do it – the 1st key is to make sure you can see EVERY shoe at any time.

Note: If you have a LOT of shoes and a small amount of space, you can also opt to switch out your shoes seasonally to make it easier to see all of the seasonal ones at one time.

They’re organized by style of shoe.

This means all my stilettos are in one section, my flats in another, my wedges in another, and so on. Now, you may not choose to organize your shoes in this way. Other ideas would be to organize them by color or by season or by most and least used. If you’re really OC, you can even organize them alphabetically by designer.

The point is though, there should be some method to the madness. It’s not enough to just be able to see your shoes. You also want to be able to walk into the closet and know exactly which area to look towards when you’re trying to decide which shoes will work best for your outfit.

There are NO shoes in there that I haven’t worn in three years.

Okay, admittedly, this should probably be a year, but I just haven’t been able to make that commitment yet. It’s not as easy as you think, trust me. However, listen – if you have shoes that you haven’t worn since high school, it’s so time to give those up. And now. Like right now.

Anyway, those three basics pretty much keep my closet organized and efficient. And it looks nice too!  What do y’all think, though? And do you have any other great tips for keeping an efficient and organized closet? I’d love to hear them!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

