Tips for My Future Husband – #7

14 12 2012
Penny GIF

Anyone who watches Happy Endings knows that Penny is the epitome of “quirky.”
Photo credit: backhandspringsthroughbridgetown.blogspot.com

Appreciate my special brand of quirkiness…

“Penny, I’m sorry I freaked out, but you’re just a little weird, but I like that you’re a little weird.”

I heard this quote on Happy Endings the other night and instantly knew what my next tip would be. You see, I think it’s very important to not only know that we all have our own little quirks, but to love the person we’re with because of those quirks. Notice I didn’t say, despite.

And boy, do I have some little eccentricities (and that’s not even accounting for the fact that I write a blog that talks about my love life or wouldn’t let people legitimately hug me for years). Here are some of my highlights:

1. I’m a total nerd for quotables, be they in a movie, TV show, in a book, in a meme… wherever. If I feel it can relate to me in any way, I’m making note of it (and trust me, I find all kinds of ways for them to relate to me).

2. I’m really particular about things that have to do with New Orleans, which might be cute until you’ve seen me turn my nose up at something not being authentic or question the validity of something else like a hundred times in a month.

3. I love and need my dance parties. On the upside, I love it when folks join in too, as long as their excitement level is where mine is.

4. I will easily jump into song or some slang version of a different language in the middle of a sentence. I also think I’m a dj in my mind.

5. I’m a total Christmas groupie. Like, legit mush ball for the holiday. I dress up. I decorate the place (not just putting up a tree). I sing Christmas songs constantly. I go to take pictures with Santa in the mall, still. I own a Santa hat, Christmas lingerie, and like to get Christmas colors painted on my nails.

Anyway, those are just some of the quirky things about me. But whoever future Mr. D-Magic is can’t come up in here trying to take those things away from me. He can’t begrudgingly accept them, but wish I’d stop. He doesn’t necessarily need to partake, but I’d happily settle for him giving me a ‘that’s my wife and I love her’ look when he sees me doing either of them.

Why’s this important? Like I mentioned before, we all have our quirks. But the last thing I want to do is spend the rest of my life with someone who wishes I were different. I want him to appreciate me for me, to love me just as I am, and he can’t do that if he doesn’t love ALL of me. And that includes the things that make me weird.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 12 2012
29tolife

I am oh, so quirky too. That’s the descriptor many of my friends give me with a smile. I used to reject it and think it was their nice way of saying I was weird. But now, I accept it and wear the title proudly. I bring a special brand of awesome into other people’s lives and make them laugh and enjoy a moment and not take life so seriously. It is now a life mission. You’re future man will get you. I believe it!

19 12 2012
dbaham

YES!!! Quirky girls unite!!! lol… and thanks honey. I’m looking forward to my future guy appreciating allllllllllllll this gal has to offer 🙂

20 09 2013
I’m One of Those Girls that… | Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] noticed, around here on Choices, Voices, and Sole, I’m very into accepting who I am (quirks and all) and getting others to accept things about themselves, as […]

14 04 2014
mobile games

Admiring the time and effort you put into your website and in depth information you provide.
It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while
that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.
Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to
my Google account.

Leave a Reply

