Who is this Undecided Voter & Why Should We Care if They Don’t?

5 11 2012

Photo: Courtesy of Saturday Night Live video

Well folks, tomorrow is election day for the President of the United States, and if you haven’t already voted by absentee ballot or through early voting, it’s probably a day you should be standing in line and voting.

But on the eve of the election day (or as I like to call it, America’s last chance to keep me from moving to Montreal), I’d like to talk about something that’s been bothering me for quite some time now: the undecided voter.

If you click on the link I provided in the caption of the photo, you’ll see a pretty funny video that Saturday Night Live did on this very concept recently, but it’s something that’s actually been bugging me for years.

Every national election, we’re bombarded with comments about the undecided voter – this strange, strange person who for some reason can’t decide between 2 people who represent 2 very distinct and different sides of many, many issues. I know some folks think all politicians are the same, but c’mon – how long does it take you for to decide between this:

I’m a Christian by choice. My family didn’t — frankly, they weren’t folks who went to church every week. And my mother was one of the most spiritual people I knew, but she didn’t raise me in the church. So I came to my Christian faith later in life, and it was because the precepts of Jesus Christ spoke to me in terms of the kind of life that I would want to lead — being my brothers’ and sisters’ keeper, treating others as they would treat me.

I think also understanding that Jesus Christ dying for my sins spoke to the humility we all have to have as human beings, that we’re sinful and we’re flawed and we make mistakes, and that we achieve salvation through the grace of God. But what we can do, as flawed as we are, is still see God in other people and do our best to help them find their own grace. That’s what I strive to do. That’s what I pray to do every day.

I think my public service is part of that effort to express my Christian faith. … One thing I want to emphasize, having spoken about something that obviously relates to me very personally, as president of the United States I’m also somebody who deeply believes that part of the bedrock strength of this country is that it embraces people of many faiths and no faith… that this is a country that is still predominantly Christian, but we have Jews, Muslims, Hindus, atheists, agnostics, Buddhists, and that their own path to grace is one that we have to revere and respect as much as our own.

That’s part of what makes this country what it is.

and that:

There are 47% of the people who will vote for the president no matter what. All right, there are 47% who are with him, who are dependent upon government, who believe that they are victims, who believe the government has a responsibility to care for them, who believe that they are entitled to health care, to food, to housing, to you-name-it. That that’s an entitlement. And the government should give it to them. And they will vote for this president no matter what.

And I mean the president starts off with 48, 49, 4— he starts off with a huge number. These are people who pay no income tax. 47% of Americans pay no income tax. So our message of low taxes — doesn’t connect. So he’ll be out there talking about tax cuts for the rich.

I mean, that’s what they sell every four years. And so my job is not to worry about those people. I’ll never convince them they should take personal responsibility and care for their lives.

Am I missing something here? Maybe I’m too liberal, and so I’m not able to see the nuances that these undecided voters see that make them so… undecided. I mean, what is making the decision so darn hard?

I feel like most undecided voters think of themselves as the pretty, unattainable girl who the guys have to spar over to win her attention. Here’s the problem with that, though – us decided voters who have studied on the candidates and known who would get our votes, you know anywhere from months to years ago, get caught in the crossfire!

I have to get subjected to campaign commercials every 10 min while I’m watching Grey’s and Scandal (2 shows I like to watch live!). I have to get emails from the Obama campaign every. single. day. And now, I’m getting attack texts! All because you folks can’t make a damn decision.

Now, this isn’t the  first election that has brought up the illusive undecided voter, and it surely won’t be the last. But after this year, I’m proposing that we stop caring about them. (S)he doesn’t seem to care enough to make a decision, so why should we care when they don’t?

Happy Voting/Deciding Day folks!!! Go ahead and make a date at the polls!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

