Celebrity Shoe Lines

24 10 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With Keyshia Cole launching her new shoe line with Steve Madden next month, I thought it would be kind of cool to profile some of the other celebrities who have successfully launched shoe lines over the past several years. I’m sure Keyshia hopes to be as successful as say, Jessica Simpson, who is arguably more known for her shoe line than her singing career at this point. But only time will tell if her shoes with Steve Madden are a hit or a miss for her.

Keyshia recently spoke to The Breakfast Club about her new venture, saying:

I’ve been talking about this Steven Madden deal for about four years now so the reason why I wanted to do a deal with Steven Madden is because, when I didn’t have any money and before I got my deal, I used to buy Steve Madden shoes. So I just want to make sure that I do really cute shoes that my demographic can afford.

[The shoes will debut in] November.  I’ve already made all three and they will be featured in my videos and in the album packaging.

I certainly wish her luck, and while the first two shoes she’s showcased don’t exactly fit my aesthetic, I could definitely see girls like my baby sister rocking them. She’s a fan of a much flashier shoe than I am.

In the meantime, while we wait to see if Keyshia’s line will be a success, here are the top 5 celebrity shoe lines I think are changing the game these days.

Jessica Simpson

I spoke about this earlier, but Jessica has really branded herself as a shoe impresario with her shoe line. And you’d be hard pressed to find many women shoe lovers who aren’t fans or her shoes. I certainly am!

House of Harlow 1960 by Nicole Richie

This is not the same Nicole who was strutting around Hollywood with Paris, being a bad girl. Well, technically it is, but since then Nicole has really made a name for herself in the fashion world. Her shoes are just the start of that.

L.A.M.B. by Gwen Stefanie

I know some No Doubt fans will hate to hear this, but it’s quite possible that Gwen’s known for her shoes as much as she is her music, just like with Jessica Simpson. This is great (for her shoe brand, at least)… maybe not so much for her music career. I’m sure if she puts out another BANANAS song in the near future, that might all change.

JLO by Jennifer Lopez

She may not be the original shoe line celebrity, but she’s definitely one of the more accomplished from her era. When JLO first came out, you couldn’t find it anywhere in the stores, not because they weren’t selling them in the stores, because they’d be all sold out. The brand’s popularity has died down a little bit, but she’ll always be one of the premier examples of how to use your celebrity to build a fashion empire under your name.

Fergie Footwear

One look on her website, and you’ll see that her shoes are comparable to anything you’ll find at Bakers, Nine West, or Steve Madden. Maybe even cuter?

Anyway, what do you all think? Would you buy Keyshia’s shoes? And do you own any shoes from any of the other popular celebrity shoe lines?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

