The Importance and Awesomeness of ABC’s Scandal

21 09 2012

In about a week, ABC will premiere the season opener for Scandal, a drama created and executive produced by Shonda Rhimes of Grey’s Anatomy fame. And while I’ll definitely be watching it for all the reasons that most people become invested in shows – the great writing, the outstanding cast, the cliffhanger season finale, the drama and intrigue, etc… – I’ll also be watching because there’s a part of me that feels a certain obligation to do so.

Now, here me out – that obligation is NOT why I love this show. I love this show because it’s got all the great drama and sexy scandals I love from Grey’s Anatomy (one of my fav shows!) mixed with the political flair of the Nation’s Capitol. I also love it because it’s smart without seeming like it’s talking down to its audience, it keeps you on your toes and makes you pay attention to every detail, however small. And honestly, I love it because Kerry Washington is so damn fabulous!

And here’s where that piece of obligation comes in to play (at least for me as a writer and as someone who is friends with many people who want to follow in Shonda Rhimes’ footsteps).

Real quick – do me a favor and name another hour long drama on network TV where the main character is a black woman.

Don’t worry. I’ll give you some time to think about it.

Uh huh.

Hmmm.

You’re thinking.

No, Glee doesn’t count. Mercedes was never the lead character, and while Glee may be an hour long, it’s not really a drama.

Keep trying.

Got nothing? You give up? Yeah, exactly my point. Now, I’m not saying that a show has to have a black woman lead character in order for me to like it (heck, often the shows I like don’t have any), but when I see Kerry on this show?? I don’t know, it just does something for me. I look at her and think ‘not only is she complex and fly and ridiculously smart and sexy and all things amazing, but she’s black too?! YESSSS!!!’

Maybe that’s not politically correct to say, but it’s true. And in this time of media where it seems to be harder and harder to find black and brown faces on scripted dramas (on network and cable TV), it’s not only refreshing but important to see it happening so successfully on Scandal. If my Twitter timeline and Facebook Newsfeed are any indication, there are a lot of people waiting in anticipation for the fall season to begin.

I don’t want to put any undue pressure on Ms. Rhimes, because it’s certainly not her responsibility to do anything but make good TV. But I’m glad that she has made a consistent effort to show the diversity of this country on all her shows. And it never feels forced. It never feels stereotypical. Just like Cristina Yang on Grey’s is all these other attributes besides being Asian, so Kerry Washington’s character is all these things besides being Black. Except they both are Asian and Black respectively. It’s important just for them to be who they are. Neither character hides from it, nor is defined by it. But it’s there, and it seems seamless and real.

So yes, I’ll be watching Scandal next week and the weeks to come because it’s absolutely amazing. But I’ll also be watching because I’d love to see even more complex Black women in dramas on TV, and the success of Scandal might just be the vehicle to make that happen.

PS: Thanks to some of my amazing readers, Choices, Voices, and Sole was nominated in 4 categories for the Black Weblog Awards. Please take a moment to head over to their page to vote for yours truly in the following categories: Best Writing in a Blog, Best Personal Blog, Best Blog Post Series (for the Shoe Stories) and Best Sex or Relationship Blog. You can vote here –> Black Weblog Awards voting page. Semi-finalist voting ends October 1, 2012.

Actions

Information

11 responses

21 09 2012
erika

I haven’t even finished this article. But, I’d like to clarify, Mercedes (Amber Riley) is still going to be on Glee. Her name still appears in the credits (I checked in both eps from this new season) and she talks about it here: http://omg.yahoo.com/blogs/crush/glee-amber-riley-t-complain-things-going-world-212650579.html.

Now that I’ve stopped having heart palpitations (sp?), I can finish reading all about the aweseomess that is Kerry Washington, Shonda Rhimes and Scandal!

21 09 2012
dbaham

So sorry dear. I certainly didn’t mean to give you heart palpitations lol. The graph is fixed.

21 09 2012
29tolife

Love this show. Hooked from day one. I bought a new suit yesterday, and named it, yup. “The Olivia Pope.” Turn me down, or say no to whatever I’m trying to persuade you to do. I dare ye!

21 09 2012
dbaham

I was hooked from day one too! And I absolutely adoooore the fact that you named your suit “The Olivia Pope.” Get it!!

21 09 2012
Kieran

The show really is fantastic and Kerry Washington makes it looks effortless. Her charisma, charm, and strength really come through in this show which makes the material presented even better. She has definitely earned her place on my list of favorite actresses. I’ve already got my Hopper set to record the new season because I don’t want to miss any of the juicy stuff going on in this show. My DISH co-workers are huge fans of this show and they are all gearing up for the show when it gets started on the 27th. I just can’t wait to see what other stories of intrigue will be highlighted this time around. Hooray for fall TV!

21 09 2012
dbaham

I love this whole comment. Esp this –> “Her charisma, charm, and strength really come through in this show which makes the material presented even better.”

Kerry is all kinds of fabulous in this role!! And I love that Shonda created a role where the main character is imperfect. She’s complicated and has weaknesses, but she’s still ridiculously smart and sexy and strong and just all around amazing.

21 09 2012
kesha mitchell

You rock Dutty!!!

22 09 2012
dbaham

Thanks honey!!!

24 09 2012
Brenda

I love Kerry Washington. Always have, always will. And I love Scandal. I also support shows with Black women because like you mentioned earlier, the casts of many of our favorite shows are hopelessly vanilla. And I’ve supported some not so great shows (Tracee Ellis Ross’s recent effort, need I say more) and I will continue to do so because I love seeing strong Black women who are doing BIG things on my screen.

26 09 2012
dbaham

Yes, yes, yes to all of this! And Kerry and Tracee are definitely two of my favs, as evidenced by the posts I’ve done on them – so I’m totally on one accord with you there. But that’s what makes Scandal so awesome – we don’t have to watch it juuuuust to support the fact that a strong, sexy, ridiculously fab Black woman is the lead. The show is just pure awesomeness anyway, so that makes it all the better.

It’s like sprinkles on the already good cake! And we all know how much I looove sprinkles lol

5 11 2012
Who is this Undecided Voter & Why Should We Care if They Don’t? « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] to get subjected to campaign commercials every 10 min while I’m watching Grey’s and Scandal (2 shows I like to watch live!). I have to get emails from the Obama campaign every. single. day. […]

Leave a Reply

