Happy 4th of July! (Tips on Finding the Best Shoes for BBQ-Hopping)

4 07 2012

Photo: The white loafers I’ll be wearing on the 4th of July.
Shoes: Aldo BLYE flats / Image: Me!

There are some holidays where it’s just kind of expected that you’ll hop around to different parties. The Fourth of July is one of those holidays. So while it happens to fall on a Wednesday this year, that’s no need to find yourself ill-prepared shoe-wise for what will probably be a long food-filled day for many of us.

Here are some tips to ensuring you have the best shoes to fit your bbq fancy:

Make sure your shoes are comfortable first…

I know that there are many of us who forsake comfort for beauty, but when you’re planning to stand around at bbqs/cookouts all day, this is not the time for such antics. And contrary to popular belief, you can find shoes that are both cute and comfortable; it just takes practice in knowing what works best for your foot. For example, if you’re at a shoe store, I would suggest that you try on BOTH shoes and walk around the store for at least 2 minutes before purchasing them. A 30 second seated try on of just your right foot does not give you an accurate idea of what you’ll be dealing with in normal circumstances.

Then make sure they’re cute…

This should be obvious, but you’d be surprised how many times I see women walking around with either shoes that are ugly or shoes that leave me feeling bleh. Trust me, one is no greater evil than the other. Your shoe should always make a statement… even if it’s a simple black or tan pump (ps: the best shoes don’t need to have a bunch of embellishments to stand out). So before you walk out of that house, look down at your feet, and if those shoes don’t look like a random person would come by and compliment you on them – go back and change.

And FINALLY, why not pick it up a notch and make sure they make a statement!

Like I said, I believe your shoes should always make a statement… but there’s a difference between a statement and a statement. That gold lamé gladiator sandal with crystal embellishments that you’ve been dying to wear, those are a statement honey. But it doesn’t even have to be anything that fancy if that’s not your style – picking it up a notch is just about wearing something that stands out in the crowd. And if you’re good enough, makes your entire outfit pop.

I’ll be wearing those white loafers with gold studs (pictured above) that I just recently purchased from Aldo for the 4th, because they fit all three criteria for me. If you’re anything like me, the best way to plan your outfit is to start with your shoes and then everything seems to fall into place. With that said, what are some of the looks you all will be going for today?

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 07 2012
Celebrity Shoe Spotlight – Tracee Ellis Ross « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] Looking at Tracee’s photos, you can see that she certainly enjoys introducing variety into her wardrobe – you’ll see her in gladiator shoes, sneakers, stilettos, and more. And yet, when she decides to go classic, she is just as comfortable sliding into a pair of all black or all red pumps. One common thread, however, is that each one is a statement shoe. […]

1 08 2012
All WHITE Everythang! « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] to special occasion shoes in our heads. However, I can tell you from personal experience with my fancy new white loafers that there are many other opportunities to introduce the color white into your shoe closet. I know […]

20 08 2012
I Have the Perfect Date Dress… « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] me, my lament is over the dress more so than the date. I mean, this dress has it all. You know how I love for my shoes to make the statement in the outfit? Not with this dress; all you would need is a simple nude heel to cap off what it […]

24 09 2012
Tips on Wearing the Appropriate Shoes for a Specific Occasion « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] also know that there’s a time and a place for everything. And just like I would never wear my pretty white loafers to a camping trip, you also wouldn’t find me wearing heels to say walk along the National […]

27 01 2014
Celebrity Shoe Spotlight — Sarah Jessica Parker | Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] I mean, the woman not only has a variety of shoes in her arsenal, she clearly also believes in a statement shoe. And for that, she has to be […]

30 03 2014
where to buy a cute dress

Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search
Engine Optimization? I’m trying tto get my blog to rannk for
some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

