PDA: How Much is TOO Much?

15 06 2012

Photo: Sodahead.com

Full disclosure: I am not a public display of affection kinda girl. I will admit that there have been very rare occasions (when I was, to use a 90s word, sprung) where I’ve been caught doing PDA type things, like holding the guy’s hand or having him feed me something. But even in those instances, the moment didn’t last long before I got a little uncomfortable, noticed my surroundings, and wanted to take our activities to a more private locale.

It probably has something to do with me being a relatively private person (says the woman who regularly airs her dirty laundry on the blog, right?). I’m that person that likes to keep specific details about her relationships to herself, and I’ve always felt that when it came to the intimacy between my partner and I – it should stay between us.

So like I said, I readily admit my part in what I’m about to say, because I don’t typically like a lot of PDA. But on my way to Philly a couple weeks ago, I had the pleasure (read: sarcasm) of standing directly behind a couple that was driving me absolutely bananas. They took PDA to a whole nother level. They made cute little kissing noises non stop and kept alternating between “I love you’s” and “I love you more’s.” They kissed with their noses and play fought each other. They tickled each other and even alternated grabbing each other from behind and trying to make the other person sit on each one’s lap.

They were doing the most, y’all. For like, 40 minutes straight.

And everyone around me thought so, as well. At first, I thought it was just my PDA bias, but as I began to look around, I noticed that everyone else in line was either rolling their eyes or looking on quite disapprovingly.

And yet, like I said, it went on for at least 40 minutes. These people didn’t care that they were being glared at from different directions. As far as they were concerned, or so it seemed, they were in their own little world. And in some sense I get that. I’ve had a guy go to kiss me in public, sense my discomfort, whisper in my ear that “no one else matters. It’s just you and me right now” and totally take my inhibitions away. Never in the way they were doing it and never for 40 minutes, but maybe that was my problem and not theirs.

They were clearly in love, and there was a small part of me that felt bad for wanting to gouge my eyes out because of them. And then they almost knocked this one guy down while trying to play fight in line and I went back to my resolve that it was just too much for the environment they were in at the time.

But the whole incident made me wonder, is there such a thing as too much PDA? Or was it our fault (the outsiders subjected to the PDA) that we were so negatively affected by their public display?

I still don’t have a definitive answer for that (although I’m leaning to there being a case for too much sometimes), so maybe you can help. I will say that it’s interesting to note that the couple in question were definitely not from the United States. I can’t say for certain, but they may have had French accents, and we know that other countries tend to be a little more liberal with their love displays.

What say you? Is there such a thing as too much PDA, and if so how much is too much?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

