Tips for My Future Husband – #2

3 08 2011

Reserve either a room in the house just for me or build me a nice add-on sanctuary to the house.

Do you remember towards the end of the Cosby Show when Cliff turned the large shed in the back of the house into a sanctuary for Clair? I’ve always felt that this was one of the nicest things a husband could ever do for his wife… preserve her sanity. But I’d like to modernize Clair’s sanctuary a bit.

I mean, at this point, we’ve probably all seen famous rooms turned closets, such as that of Mimi Carey (before she was Cannon) and Toni Childs from the TV show, Girlfriends, and I think that incorporating those two ideas – a closet/sanctuary – sounds like the absolute best way for my husband and I to stay together. Why do I need this space, you may ask?

Well, a couple reasons. For starters, I finally moved into my own apartment last October (meaning no roommates, just ME!) and living on my own has only served to make me want to continue living on my own. It’s seriously one of the greatest things ever! I love coming home to an apartment that looks exactly how I left it. Pillows are still fluffed on the sofa. Throw blankets are still in their baskets in the living room. Dishes are still clean. Everything is just how it was when I left out. It’s an amazing feeling.

It’s also a great feeling to be able to do whatever the heck you want to do and not worry about bothering anyone. You want to crank up your Grey’s Anatomy play list and dance your heart away in your living room? Not a problem. You want to air dry yourself after taking a shower? Go for it. You want to find out if a certain somebody works magic in every room, not just in your bedroom? Who the hell cares – this is all your ish.

Can you tell that I love it?

Except that, here’s the problem… I also love love. Damn hopeless romantic. And since I love love and all, I know that eventually I will get to the point where I want to spend the rest of my life with someone and he will want to spend the rest of his life with me. Right now, I’m not there. I can’t seem to either reciprocate the feeling others have for me or choose the right people to want to have those feelings for, but that’s another blog post. But when I do get there, I can’t exactly continue living alone, right?

I mean, living alone is wonderful… but I’m a hopeless romantic, so I also want to regularly do things like wake up to the man of my dreams kissing me (even with funky morning breath lol) or cook wonderful meals together before we take a bath in our claw foot tub together. Don’t judge me.

And thus, we’re here at tip number two. You see, the sanctuary not only allows me to live with my future husband and our future kids, but it also allows me to get the h3ll away from them if and when it’s needed. And I can already tell you that it may be needed at least one day a month lol. Trust me, Midol doesn’t fix that “I just want everyone to leave me alone for a day” feeling we can sometimes get.

What do you all think? That’s a fairly reasonable request, right? I mean, it’s not like I’m asking for regular visits from Darren Sharper (don’t doubt how often I can squeeze him in a post lol). Men – if your wife asked for her own little sanctuary room for use only a couple days a month, what would she have to give you in return? Women – what’s something you’d ask for in order to keep your sanity?

Actions

Information

One response

24 08 2011
Nudist Colony « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] the other closet though, it’s like a mini-version of Mimi’s closet. Very mini. But still, it’s in the same style. There are hanging shoe compartments and shoe […]

Leave a Reply

