Let’s Talk Chrissy and the Case for/against Proposing to Your Man…

27 04 2011

Well, well, well… it looks like Jimmy said yes (kinda… I think. Well, uh he didn’t say no?) to Chrissy’s umm unorthodox proposal. But whether you watch Love and Hip Hop or not, I’d like to discuss the idea of a woman proposing to her man.

For those who don’t watch the show, here’s a quick background on the matter: Chrissy and Jim Jones have been together for over 6 years now. They live together. They make future plans together. They have a dog together. And unlike her friend Emily’s relationship with Fabolous, Chrissy is not relegated to the background of his life. Everyone knows they’re together and it’s not by accident. They claim each other.

So, after 6 years, Chrissy has decided she’s ready to take it to the next level of commitment – marriage. There’s only one problem – Jimmy has not proposed to her and to our knowledge (the viewing public) has not discussed marriage possibilities with her either. So instead of waiting for him any longer, she decides that she is going to propose to him in front of all their friends/family, with the help of her friend, Olivia.

Now, Chrissy’s surely not the first woman to do this and she won’t be the last – but it got me to thinking how men and women felt about the idea. Chrissy herself was conflicted, saying:

Part of me is like stomping and kicking, like no – we want him to ask you! But I don’t have time for that, so let’s just go ahead and get this union together because if it’s gon’ be me and you, then let’s make it me and you… part of me is like, that’s right – ask him. You know he ain’t gon’ say no. And another part of me is going, well he hasn’t asked you and maybe it’s cuz he’s not ready!

Ultimately, she decided it was worth the try. I’m all for leaping (with discernment) for love, but I’d be lying if I said I would be comfortable with the idea of proposing to my man. Have I thought about spending the rest of my life with someone before? Yea… but I always just figured that a) even though he would propose, it would be something we would have extensively discussed already; meaning while the exact way he proposes may be a surprise, the fact that he’s proposing shouldn’t be… And b) that he would most definitely be the one proposing! But maybe that’s because I haven’t dated someone who causes me to want to propose to him? I don’t know…

What do you all think? Was it a good move? Olivia obviously thought it was a “dope move,” but she also thought it was a good idea for Chrissy to pair the proposal with a burlesque show. Sooooo, she’s not credible anymore lol. Ladies – would you do it? Fellas – how would you feel if your girl proposed to you? And someone, please tell me – what does “I’m witchu” mean? Is that yes or no?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

