Something like High School

30 12 2009

It’s something about being at home – walking on the floors of my childhood (albeit revamped since then), hanging out in the den, driving the streets of New Orleans, seeing family and old friends – that always rejuvenates me. Even more than that though, it always reminds me of high school – in particular high school loves.

I don’t know about you, but I definitely was no serial monogamist in high school. In fact, the more I think about it, my high school years were very indicative of how I’ve spent most of my dating life since then. Throughout the four years, I had a grand total of 2 serious boyfriends. One in ninth grade and another in 12th grade and in between those two – a whole bunch of really short, teases of relationships in which I got bored of the guys before I even learned their middle name.

Since then, it’s pretty much been the same – except that irony of all ironies, the two serious relationships in high school became one of those short teases in my grown world. The teasers have grown longer than my typical high school 2-week excursions, but for all intents and purposes, they’re the same thing.

And scattered within those teasers were 2 serious relationships. How crazy is that, right?! Nothing has changed since high school… for better or for worse.

What about you, readers? Is there anything, relationship wise, you seem to have carried on from high school?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

