Such a Huge EGO

17 09 2009

“It’s too big, it’s too wide, it’s too strong, it wont fit… it’s too much, it’s too tough, he talk like this cuz he can back it up.”

So on my Honey blog, I briefly talked about how I love the song, Ego. It was a shorter post, but here I can elaborate.  So let me start here where I ended there (yeah, that means you still have to read it lol).

I. Love. This. Song.

Mainly because I can so relate to looooving a man’s ego, whether Beyonce is talking about his orange aura or his penis – I’ve loved them both (although, between me and you, she’s soooo talking about his penis).

Even more so than the original song, however – I loooove the remix. And I’m not alone.

“I got a big ego, (hahaha), I’m such a big ego, (hahaha), I got a big, (hahaha), Ego, She love my big, (hahaha), Ego, So stroke my big, (hahaha), Ego, I like to joke around a little bit but here we go…”

Don’t believe me? Well, let me tell you – I know at least two people who can’t seem to get enough of the remix. I will not put them out there and say who they are, real or fake names, but trust me – they love it. How do I know? Because every chance they get, they find some way to throw it in conversation – like, “Mr. So and So came over yesterday… ha ha ha… he’s got a big ego… ha ha ha… I love his big ego…. ha ha ha” or “I want to see you… ha ha ha… so does my ego… ha ha ha…” – you get the point.

Now, it’s possible that these 2 and all the other thousands of fans of the remix just enjoy the silliness of the concept. Highly plausible – might even be part of the reason. Heck, I think it’s funny too (granted, not as funny as them – but funny nonetheless). However, I think it’s something more.

I think the reason Kanye’s verse works so well is the same reason Beyonce’s song became a big hit – people like talking

look at Beyonce - she knows what she's saying!

look at Beyonce - she knows what she's saying!

dirty, but being able to conceal it in some manner. I mean, it would be completely inappropriate to tell someone that they should stroke your penis, you might even get slapped or hung up on – but say “ego” and suddenly it becomes funny, dirty enough to be intriguing, but still clean enough to make a respectable girl feel okay with the content.

Which leads me to my theory  – and really the point of this whole post: I think everyone likes a little smudge on their clothes sometimes. Seriously – think about it. Even the good girl likes the chance to be naughty sometimes and the quickest way to do it is use some coy, not so subtle analogy for the sexual organs – and talk about stroking and/or licking them.

What say you, dear readers? Do you agree????

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 09 2009
Cunty Black Woman

This song is full of WIN. I love it, too.

18 09 2009
dbaham

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m sure my 2 unnamed friend would be excited to see that you agree with them! 🙂

24 09 2009
countryclubbarbie

Yeah . . . I bet they would 😉

5 10 2009
The Benefits of the “Curve” « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] 5 10 2009 Personal disclaimer – this post is probably the most ‘ego‘ driven post I’ve ever written, but it has to be said. It just does, […]

Leave a Reply

