Bugaboos…

8 07 2009

It’s not hot that you be callin’ me
Stressin’ me, pagin’ my beeper
You’re just non-stop
And it’s not hot
That you be leavin’ me messages
Every 10 minutes and then you stop by
When I first met you, you were cool
But it was game, you had me fooled
‘Cause 20 minutes after I gave you my number
You already had my mailbox full

~ Destiny’s Child “Bugaboo”

So I told yall before that I had to tell you the story of how I learned the hard way that dating practice may not be all it’s cracked up to be. Well, bug a boohere you go: the whole sordid story. Some find it funny… others (ie: me) think it’s downright depressing… whichever side you fall on, enjoy!

Your girl has had a very interesting past couple months when it comes to guys. I’ve put myself out there to  one guy, after he initiated a “what are we doing” conversation mind you, and had it blow up in my face. I started liking someone I never thought I would like after 5 years of knowing him… and had that blow up in my face as well… AND I’ve had two guys continue to bug the hell out of me for seemingly no good reason at all lol.

The last two started out simple enough. The first one I met the night before my birthday at this club called Posh in Washington, DC. Actually, it was probably after midnight, so I guess you can say it was on my birthday. Anyway, he was cute and sexy (from what I remember lol), he danced quite well (which is ALWAYS a plus) and he was intriguing. So when he asked me for my phone number, of course I obliged.

I should have known something was up though when he called me the same night. He wanted to see me… of course. I should have known. Really sir? Anyway, even in my drunken stupor, I informed him that he would do better calling me at a more appropriate time.

So what did he do? Proceeded to text me. Now, we all know how I feel about this texting phenomenon that’s going on, so I tried nicely to explain to him that he should pick up the phone and call me… and he still proceeded to KEEP texting me. He would text me things like, “hey ma… what you doing?’ or “hey ma, let’s do something tomorrow” and on and on until he finally got the clue that I wasnt going to have text conversations with him. lol… unfortunately, this lasted for like a month before he was starting to get a clue.

And right around the time, he got the clue, I met this other guy. I was on my way to Philly for Memorial Day Weekend when I met this cute guy. I couldnt understand him very well, because his accent was really thick. But hey, I’m a sucker for a cute guy so…. we tried to carry on a conversation and he eventually asked me for my number when the bus ride was over. And since, I’m a sucker… I did… even though, I’d had to ask the man at least 50 times to repeat himself because I couldnt understand him… and this was in person, not on the phone.

So what did he do? Proceeded to call me every day, text me every morning saying “good morning” and every night saying “good night”, and UpsetWoman1this was all before we’d known each other a week’s time. In fact, he started the very next day…. ummmmm bug much?

Now, dont get me wrong, the guy’s nice and as I said before, he’s cute, so I tried yall. I did. I told him that I wasnt one of those girls who needed or even wanted to talk to someone 4 and 5 times a day. I told him I was really busy when at work and he shouldnt call during the work day. And nothing… he just kept doing it. He kept calling over and over and over… until one day, I had to call and tell him that I didnt think things would work out between us, I didnt feel any chemistry, and I wasnt sure I wanted to continue to try. I know that sounds harsh, but I promise I said it in the nicest way possible lol, plus I figured that was better than leading him on and having him think I was interested in something further. But it didnt stop anything… and it hasnt.

He still calls. No Seriously yall… still.

So trust me when I say, dating for the practice of dating isnt always the way to go…. do any of yall have any horror stories to share?

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 07 2009
countryclubbarbie

Ha ha ha – this story still makes me die laughing every time!

23 09 2009
Another One Bites the Dust… « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] – even after it was clear things were not going to go anywhere. Then there was the Mad Texter, who decided that our only form of communication could come through the form of a text message. […]

Leave a Reply

