Obama Kinda Love

27 01 2009

Remember that song Alicia Keys had where she talked about the different kinds of love? You remember: it was that Will and Jada kind of love and Bill and Camille kind of love. Actually, looking at the lyrics… I see that a lot of the couples she mentions in Unbreakable, were well… quite breakable… kanyealexis

I guess thats what happens when you attempt to compare others’ loves with the relationship you have with someone. There was a time when I looked at these pictures and thought, “damn… he really loves her!” Well, we all know how that worked out. Hell, anyone who’s heard any songs off of 808s and Heartbreaks knows how that worked out. So, logic would say not to do that whole comparing thing again.

And I hadnt.

Really, the honest truth (redundant yes, but needed) was that I hadnt talked about the beauty of love with my friends or anyone in quite awhile. We’d talked about living the single life and how fun it is to be able to do whatever you want whenever you want. We’d talked about the art of flirting or the different kinds of guys we could date. And you already KNOW we talked about the benefits of things such as watermelon and cookies LOL.

But love… that’s kind of been a taboo subject with us lately. I dont know if it was the fact that a few of my close friends recently ended long term relationships with men they love or that some of my friends havent found someone to love and love them back in years or that the last time I loved, well let’s just say it didnt work out very well… whatever it is, none of us talked about it.

And then these pictures started showing up.

obama1obama2

 

 

 

 

 

GYI0000593733.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

obama4obama5

obama6

 

 

 

 

 

 

How can you not swoon looking at them? I mean, seriously. More and more, people started emailing me pictures and putting them on facebook… and I gave in. I want that Obama kinda love, I started thinking. That love that everyone can see just by looking at your faces. That dedicated through the hard times, motivating through the unclear times, proud during the happy times kinda love.

So yeah… The Obamas have inspired more than just political change in this cynic… they’ve renewed my belief that it is possible to have a man look at you… and he KNOW you… and it not be complicated.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 02 2009
Katrina

I’m in love with their relationship lol! Even in a room full of people, it looks like they’re the only two there. I think I have a love like that, just hope its unbreakable 😉

2 02 2009
dbaham

You said it perfectly! It really does look like they’re the only two people in a room! and awwwwwwwwwwwwwww to you and your boo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

