I’m not a playa, I just CRUSH a lot…

12 01 2009

“How can one be down?
Tell me where to start
Cause every time you smile
I feel tremors in my heart
I have but one concern
How can I get with you?
Till my day comes here’s what I’m gonna do

Be sittin up in my room
Back here thinking ’bout you
I must confess I’m a mess for you
Be sittin up in my room
Back here thinking ’bout you
I’m just a mess with a thang for you”

 

How important is the crush? Well, I know that the idea of this person becomes less appealing as we get older, but I think he or she could quite possibly be one of the most important people in one’s life.

Think back to the last time you had a crush on someone. I’ll give some of you old fogies some time……………………………. Okay, you got that 200188220-001memory in your mind? How did you feel when you had your crush? Were you silly like me, wanting to make sure everything you did, said and wore were damn near perfect so he’d have to notice you? Did your heart flutter and stomach turn whenever he smiled at you and said hey? Were you writing your first name with his last name to see how it looked and sounded? (Yes, guys… We really do do that! Lol)

Or were those all just me? Nah, couldn’t be. I know, I just know that person had you sprung. Had you walking around humming shit like, Brandy and LL Cool J’s Crush on you.

And then one day, someone told you that you were too old to have a crush. Or told you some craziness like crushes are called crushes because they crush your heart when it doesn’t work out… And you stopped. You forgot about the good things that went with having a crush on someone. The sweet innocence involved in liking someone so much that didn’t necessarily have anything much to do with sex. You forgot how it brought a smile to your face when you saw that person walking around or how you damn near glowed when your friends would tease you about him or her.

Well, I’m here to tell you: STOP THAT. You’re never too old to have a crush because crushes are the most innocent category of guy there is and if you’ve lost the ability to have one, I think that’s kinda sad. So the next time you see that cutie in the office, instead of just saying “he could get it,” sb10059769n-002why don’t you say what you really mean but are too afraid to admit. I have a crush on him/her. It’s therapeutic… I promise.

This post is dedicated to all of my past crushes, especially “sigh- mi helado” (and yes, it was ALWAYS pronounced with the sigh before the phrase lol) who turned into Jon Jon and “the touch, the feel of Cotton”: my first junior high crush who I later went a few dates with only to find out he was better as a crush.

But here’s the great thing: there’s nothing wrong with finding out someone is best as a crush. That’s all some people are meant to be… and sometimes that’s all you need.

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 01 2009
Veronica

Tee hee hee… I giggle because I know exactly what you speak of.

Yes. Up with crushes.

22 01 2009
dbaham

yay!!!!!!! soooo glad you agree! 🙂

12 02 2010
Relationships, Sex and… athletes??? « Choices, Voices, and Sole

[…] major crush on Darren Sharper. I’m so not kidding. The man makes me all googly and even though I appreciate the art of crushing, it’s rare that I actually do it – so trust me, this is noteworthy. Because of this […]

Leave a Reply

