Shop-Therapy (the warm-up)

26 07 2008

“I love to shop after a bad relationship. I don’t know. I buy a new outfit and it makes me feel better. It just does. Sometimes I see a really great outfit, I’ll break up with someone on purpose.
Rita Rudner

 

A certain Country Club Barbie recently sent me this quote and as soon as I read it, I knew we had a connection. Me and the quote, that is. The Barbie and I realized we had a connection a long time ago.

 

Anyway, the quote was sooo real to me! I love shopping. I mean, really love shopping. Well, I guess you could tell that, with 1/3 of this blog being dedicated shoes and shoe stories. But let me tell you, I am definitely not alone.

 

My friends and I can literally go shopping for hours upon hours, never get weary, walking up and down the mall, the outlet, the store, market… you name it. Looking at us, you’d think we were either rich as the Hiltons, training for a marathon, or trying to do a combination of both. We’re no way close to either… just participating in good ol’ fashion girl therapy. Shopping. (Don’t get me wrong, many times, we go shopping just because, but for the purposes of this post, we’re keeping it strictly as a therapeutic tactic.)

 

Now, with any therapy, there are certainly pros and cons. 

 

You hang out with your girls doing a fun, interactive activity that normally does not involve chunking down ice cream and gaining weight: definite PRO!

 

Your bank account may not be too happy with you at the end of this excursion: definite CON!

 

You get to buy clothes, shoes, and accessories that will make him regret ever letting you go, make you feel better about your stupid boss’s opinions, drive the next guy crazy at the club: whatever your vice may have been… such a PRO!

 

No one really cares about all that stuff, except for you and your girls (and probably some haters, but they didn’t like you anyway)…. Eh, that would be a CON.

 

You can so increase your swag-meter (self-esteem, mojo, juice… whatever you wanna call it) by finding that right outfit or those perfect shoes, the scarf that brings out your eyes, or the bracelet you could wear (but definitely WONT) with almost everything you own… um, I’m sensing a PRO-win here!

 

Buuuuuttttt… you could also decrease your swag-meter by trying on clothes that don’t fit, not properly shopping for sales, and basically falling victim to anything spandex. Ouch CON!

 

So with this pretty much being a draw, what is the draw, for lack of a better word? Why do so many women, myself included, jump for the chance to spend their day or weekend throwing money around? Could it be that you’re looking for something to replace what you just lost? Or is just as simple as new things make everyone happy?

 

Okay, that’s it for now… but for part 2: the shop-therapy story to make you cringe! (good lead up eh? Lol)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

